What can we help you with?
Technical flooring, delivered directly
- ESD flooring, urethane cement, terrazzo, and polished concrete
- In-house W-2 installation crews and experienced field leadership
- National service coverage with project-specific staffing plans
- Testing, documentation, and defined project closeout
- Dedicated support for corporate procurement and multi-site contracting
Phone: +1 (844) 687-1961
Our Clients

AFMAN 32-1065 Inspection Requirements
AFMAN 32-1065 assigns conductive-floor grounding checks in hazardous explosives areas to the Base Civil Engineer upon installation and when damage is reported. DESR 6055.09_DAFMAN 91-201 requires installed grounding to meet design specifications and follow the inspection intervals prescribed in AFMAN 32-1065.
The floor provisions discussed here do not state a numerical conductive-floor resistance acceptance value. The resistance limits for equipment bonds, static bus bars, and grounding electrodes apply to those paths, not to the floor.
This guide covers AFMAN 32-1065, Grounding & Electrical Systems (17 July 2020), and DESR 6055.09_DAFMAN 91-201, Explosives Safety Standards (18 June 2025). For other source-specific guidance, see the hazardous-area flooring and grounding guides.
Hazardous-area inspection responsibilities under AFMAN 32-1065
- Category
- 12
Category 12 of the AFMAN inspection table covers hazardous explosives areas involving weapons. It assigns checks to the user or the Base Civil Engineer (BCE).
| Row | Inspection or test | Criterion stated | When | Who |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 12a | Visual inspection of static bus bars, grounding conductors, and bonds | Visual inspection | Before using equipment and every 6 months | User |
| 12a | Visual inspection of static bus bars, grounding conductors, and bonds | Visual inspection | Annually for nuclear facilities | BCE |
| 12b | Equipment bonding-strap resistance to ground | 10,000 ohms or less | When physically damaged or frayed from use | User |
| 12c | Continuity across bonds between bus bars, conductors, and bonding straps | Less than 1 ohm | When physically damaged | User |
| 12c | Continuity across bonds between bus bars, conductors, and bonding straps | Less than 1 ohm | After system modification | BCE |
| 12d | Facility ground resistance at the service grounding electrode | 25 ohms or less, per NEC Article 250 | When the facility is repaired or renovated | BCE |
| 12e | Conductive-floor grounding check | No numerical floor-resistance criterion stated | Upon installation and when damage is reported | BCE |
| 12f | Visual inspection of surge protective devices (SPDs) | Visual inspection | Every 6 months and after a lightning strike | User |
| 12f | Visual inspection of SPDs | Visual inspection | Annually | BCE |
| 12g | Checks referenced from category 13 | See rows 13e, 13f, 13g, and 13i below | As specified in the referenced rows | BCE |
The annual BCE inspection in row 12a applies to nuclear facilities and does not replace the user’s inspection schedule. The annual BCE inspection of SPDs in row 12f carries no nuclear-facility qualifier. An SPD visual inspection may consist only of checking its operating indicator lamp.
Portable grounding straps
- Paragraph
- 11.2.5
AFMAN 32-1065, paragraph 11.2.5, assigns visual inspections and continuity tests of portable straps connecting equipment to the static grounding bus to the user because those straps are not real property.
Governing inspection standard
- Paragraph
- 11.1
- Standard
- NFPA 77
AFMAN 32-1065, paragraph 11.1, directs inspectors to inspect and test facilities for compliance with NFPA 77, Static Electricity, except as modified in the AFMAN. It describes NFPA 77 as containing the minimum acceptable static grounding and bonding requirements for Air Force activities.
Conductive-floor testing precautions
- Paragraph
- A7.7
AFMAN 32-1065, paragraph A7.7, requires the room to be free of exposed explosives before instruments are used for conductive-floor tests.
Additional checks referenced by category 12g
- Row
- 12g
AFMAN 32-1065, row 12g, refers hazardous explosives areas to four checks in category 13, which otherwise covers non-hazardous explosives areas involving weapons.
| Referenced row | Inspection or test | Criterion stated | When | Who |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| 13e | Visual inspection of lightning-protection system components | Visual inspection | Every 12 months | BCE |
| 13f | Lightning-protection system ground resistance at the grounding electrode, measured diagonally opposite the electrical service | 25 ohms maximum, per NEC Article 250 | Every 24 months | BCE |
| 13g | Continuity of air terminals, bonds, and conductor connections | 1 ohm or less | Every 24 months | BCE |
| 13i | Static bus bar continuity to ground | 1 ohm or less | Every 24 months | BCE |
Row 12g does not reference category 13b or 13c.
Category 12 already contains its own equipment-bond requirements in rows 12b and 12c. Its wording is not identical: row 12c says less than 1 ohm, while rows 13c, 13g, and 13i say 1 ohm or less. That distinction is preserved from the source.
Static bus bar continuity: the 1-ohm criterion and 3-ohm investigation threshold
- Criterion
- 1 ohm or less
- Investigate
- Above 3 ohms
AFMAN 32-1065 addresses static bus bar and continuity-test readings in several places:
| Provision | What it states |
|---|---|
| Row 13i | Static bus bar continuity to ground must be 1 ohm or less, checked every 24 months by BCE. |
| Paragraph A7.6 | Investigate any static bus bar test reading above 3 ohms and correct it. |
| Paragraph 6.1.5 | If a continuity-test reading exceeds 1 ohm, check for deficiencies, repair, and retest. |
| Note to paragraph 6.1.5 | On conductors longer than 65 feet (20 meters) with no parallel paths, readings above 1 ohm but below 3 ohms may result from added test-wire resistance and are acceptable. |
The 1-ohm table criterion differs from the instruction to investigate readings above 3 ohms. The AFMAN does not state a single acceptance rule reconciling those passages.
The long-conductor note has specific conditions. Outside those conditions, these passages do not authorize accepting a reading between 1 and 3 ohms. The AFMAN does not state that the note overrides the table’s requirements.
Conductive floors and grounding under DESR 6055.09_DAFMAN 91-201
The 18 June 2025 publication combines DESR 6055.09 base text, Edition 1, Change 1 of 23 February 2024, with provisions marked “Added” by the Department of the Air Force (DAF).
The DAF addition to section V2.E3.4 refers to NFPA 77 and AFMAN 32-1065 for static grounding and bonding requirements. The following provisions distinguish the DESR base text from the Air Force additions.
Installation testing and inspection records
- Paragraph
- V2.E3.4.7.3
DAF-added paragraph V2.E3.4.7.3 requires grounding to be tested when installed to ensure that design specifications are met, and at the intervals prescribed in AFMAN 32-1065. Tests and inspections must be documented on appropriate forms or automated products.
Before electrical continuity or resistance tests, or electrical repairs, paragraph V2.E3.4.7.3.1 requires removal of all exposed explosives, electrically initiated devices (EIDs), and explosives dust, gases, and vapors subject to initiation under the specific circumstances.
Permanent equipment is not grounded by floor contact
- Section
- V2.E3.4
The base DESR section V2.E3.4 states that permanent equipment touching conductive floors or tabletops must not be considered grounded. It also requires static grounds to be bonded to the facility grounding system.
For the corresponding DoD and Army provisions, see equipment bonding and conductive-floor contact.
Conductive footwear requires a properly grounded surface
- Paragraph
- V2.E3.4.10
In the absence of technical order (TO) guidance, DAF-added paragraph V2.E3.4.10 provides techniques for static grounding. Paragraph V2.E3.4.10.1 states that protective clothing is not a substitute for personnel static grounding.
One listed technique, paragraph V2.E3.4.10.1.3, is conductive footwear used on conductive floors, mats, or runners, provided that the surface is properly grounded. This is one listed technique, not a requirement to use conductive flooring in every operation.
Wax and oil in cleaning compounds
- Paragraph
- V1.E6.17.3.1
DAF-added paragraph V1.E6.17.3.1 prohibits cleaning compounds containing wax or oil on conductive floors or surfaces.
The conductive-floor wax and residue guide explains the separately worded Army and DoD provisions.
Frequently asked questions
The provisions discussed here do not. AFMAN 32-1065, row 12e, specifies the conductive-floor grounding check without a numerical floor-resistance acceptance value. DESR 6055.09_DAFMAN 91-201, paragraph V2.E3.4.7.3, requires installed grounding to meet design specifications. AFMAN paragraph 11.1 directs compliance with NFPA 77 except as modified in the AFMAN.
AFMAN 32-1065, row 12e, assigns the check to the Base Civil Engineer upon installation and when damage is reported.
For hazardous explosives areas, AFMAN 32-1065, row 12a, assigns the user an inspection before using equipment and every six months. It also assigns the Base Civil Engineer an annual inspection for nuclear facilities. That annual inspection does not replace the user’s schedule.
AFMAN 32-1065 does not state that it does. Row 13i specifies 1 ohm or less, while paragraph A7.6 directs investigation and correction of readings above 3 ohms. The paragraph 6.1.5 note accepts readings above 1 ohm but below 3 ohms only under its stated long-conductor conditions; it is not presented as overriding every table requirement.
No. The base DESR section V2.E3.4 in DESR 6055.09_DAFMAN 91-201 states that permanent equipment touching conductive floors or tabletops must not be considered grounded. Static grounds must be bonded to the facility grounding system.
Blog

Craftsman Publishes 2026–2027 ESD Flooring Technical Guide

ESD Epoxy Flooring Case Study: 34,000 SF Dallas, TX
